Moraga, Calif. - April 9, 2019. BDK America reminds interested Buddhist scholars and publishers that the deadline for nominations for the 2019 Toshihide Numata (Book Award is fast approaching. The nomination period closes at the end of this month.

The Toshihide Numata Book Award in Buddhism

The Toshihide Numata Book Award in Buddhism (or “Toshi” Award) is awarded on an annual basis to an outstanding book in any area of Buddhist studies. The Award is administered by the Center for Buddhist Studies at the University of California, Berkeley.


To be considered for the Award during the 2019 nomination period, a book must have a copyright date of no earlier than 2018. Books must be written in English. Edited and/or coauthored books are eligible.


Nominations, consisting of the book and an optional short nomination letter, must be received by April 30, 2019, and may come from scholars in the field or book publishers. Supporting documentation, such as readers' reports and reviews, are not necessary. Authors are encouraged to nominate their own works, or have their press nominate them.

Nomination materials should be sent to:

Toshi Award in Buddhism
University of California, Berkeley
Center for Buddhist Studies
1995 University Avenue, Suite 520F
Berkeley, CA 94720-2318


The annual Award is in the amount of $10,000. The committee has the discretion to split the Award among multiple books. The Award winner(s) are reimbursed for expenses related to their attendance at the Award presentation.


The Award is presented annually at the University of California, Berkeley. The Award is celebrated with a public lecture by the Award recipient, a symposium focused on the book's theme, and a presentation dinner.

More Information

For more information, please contact:

Dr. Sanjyot Mehendale
Vice-Chair, Center for Buddhist Studies
1995 University Avenue, Suite 520F
Berkeley, CA 94720-2318
(510) 643-5104

Source: In the above article, BDK America has lightly edited the press release from the Center for Buddhist Studies.

BDK America Appreciation of Rev. Toshihide Numata

The late Rev. Toshihide Numata, namesake of the Numata Prize, served as the Chairman of Bukkyō Dendō Kyōkai for many decades until his death in 2017 at the age of 84.
Learn more about his legacy here.

From the 2018 Numata Award

In 2018, Professor Roy Tzohar, left, of Tel Aviv University, is congratulated by George Tanabe, Professor Emeritus of University of Hawaii, and President of BDK America, for receiving the award for his book, A Yogācāra Buddhist Theory of Metaphor (Oxford University Press). Learn more here