Cover of The Essentials of the Vinaya Tradition and The Collected Teachings of the Tendai Lotus School
BDK America
Publish Date: 
Leo Pruden; Paul Swanson


10 x 7 x 1
$35.00 + shipping

PDF Download



The Essentials of the Vinaya Tradition details the history and teaching of the Japanese Risshū School. It also provides a survey of Buddhist discipline, from Theravada to Mahayana. The Collected Teachings of the Tendai Lotus School introduces the doctrine and practice of this Buddhist school. Two titles in one volume.

Two important texts in Japanese Esoteric Buddhism


Taishō 2348

Volume 74

The Essentials of the Vinaya Tradition

The Essentials of the Vinaya Tradition details details the teachings and history of Risshū, the Vinaya School. The text also surveys the range of disciplines from Thereavada through Mahāyāna Buddhism, placing each discipline within the framework of Buddhist practice. The work discusses each discipline in concrete terms, and from a practitioner’s point of view. The work also traces the transmission of the individual articles of the monastic code from India via China to Japan, indicating at the same time the changes that had taken place up until the time of composition.

Jp. Risshū kōyō (律宗綱要), composed by Gyōnen. 2 fascicles.

Taishō 2366

Volume 74

The Collected Teachings of the Tendai Lotus School

In the Early Heian Period (830) Emperor Junna ordered each of the Buddhist schools to submit a treatise outlining the essentials of its teachings. These are collectively known as the Six Religious Treatises (Tenchō Era), and the present work, The Collected Teachings of the Tendai Lotus School, is one such treatise, being a summary of the teachings of the Tendai School. It gives a short and clear explanation of most of the main tenets of the Tendai School, and is thus very convenient for acquainting the reader with its doctrines.

Jp. Tendai hokke shūgi shū (天台法華宗義集), composed by Gishin. 1 fascicle.

Table of Contents

A Message on the Publication of the English Tripiṭaka    Numata Yehan     v
Editorial Foreword     HANAYAMA Shoyu     vii
Publisher’s Foreword     Philip Yampolsky     ix

The Essentials of the Vinaya Tradition    Gyonen     1-164

Translator’s Introduction     Leo M. Pruden     1
    The Life of Gyonen   2
    Gyonen’s Literary Works   3
    The Contents of the Risshū-Kōyō   5
Preface     Gyonen  11
First Question   17
Second Question   21
Third Question   22
Fourth Question   23
Fifth Question   24
Sixth Question   25
Seventh Question   26
Eighth Question   32
Ninth Question   34
Tenth Question   37
Eleventh Question   39
Twelfth Question   40
Thirteenth Question   41
Fourteenth Question   43
Fifteenth Question   45
Sixteenth Question   47
Seventeenth Question   48
Eighteenth Question   49
Nineteenth Question   52
Twentieth Question   56
Twenty-first Question   59
Twenty-second Question   61
Twenty-third Question   63
Twenty-fourth Question   65
Twenty-fifth Question   66
Twenty-sixth Question    67
Twenty-seventh Question    69
Twenty-eighth Question   74
Twenty-ninth Question   79
Thirtieth Question   81
Thirty-first Question    82
Thirty-second Question   87
Thirty-third Question    89
Thirty-fourth Question    91
Thirty-fifth Question    92
Thirty-sixth Question   96
Thirty-seventh Question   98
Thirty-eighth Question   106
  1. India    106
  2. China   111
  3. Japan    122
Glossary   143
Index    153

The Collected Teachings of the Tendai      Gishin      1-167

Translator’s Introduction  Paul L. Swanson  1
Preface  Gishin  5

Part One: Doctrine

Chapter I  The Meaning of the Four Teachings  11
     A. Interpretation of Terms  11
     B. Scriptural Support  12
     C. Explanation of the Content  14
          1. The Tripiṭaka Teaching  14
          2. The Shared Teaching  29
          3. The Distinct Teaching  33
          4. The Perfect Teaching  37
     D. Final Summation  43
Chapter II  The Meaning of the Five Flavors  45
     A. Introduction  45
     B. Scriptural Support  45
     C. Interpretation  46
Chapter III  The Meaning of the One Vehicle  49
     A. Explanation of Terms  49
     B. Interpretation of the Essence  50
     C. Scriptural Support  50
     D. Interpretation  53
Chapter IV  The Meaning of the Ten Suchlikes  63
     A. Introduction  63
     B. Interpretation  63
     C. Final Summation  73
Chapter V  The Meaning of the Twelvefold Conditioned Co-arising  75
     A. List of Terms  75
     B. Scriptural Support  76
     C. Correct Interpretation  77
     D. Classification into Crude  and Subtle  81
Chapter VI  The Meaning of the Two Truths  83
     A. A Brief Summary of the Meaning of the Two Truths  83
     B. The Correct Understanding of the Two Truths  86
     C. Classification into Crude  and Subtle  99
     D. Exposing the Crude and Revealing the Subtle  100

Part Two: The Practice of Contemplation

Chapter I  The Meaning of the Four Samadhis  105
     A. Introduction  105
          1. List of Names  105
          2. Interpretation of the Names  106
     B. Scriptural Support  106
     C. Interpretation of Its Fulfillment  107
          1. The Constantly Sitting Samādhi  107
          2. The Constantly Walking Samādhi  111
          3. The Half-sitting and Half-walking Samādhi  111
          4. The Neither-walking-nor-sitting Samādhi  111
               a)  Interpretation of the Name  111
               b)  Scriptural Support  112
               c)  Correct Interpretation  112
Chapter II  The Meaning of the Three Categories of   Delusions  119
     A. Introduction  119
     B. Scriptural Support  119
     C. Interpretation  120
          1. The Three Categories of Delusions   120
               a) Clarification of Deluded Views and Attitudes   120
               b) Clarification of the Minute Delusions 126
               c) Clarification of the Delusion of Ignorance  127
          2. The Severance of Delusions  129
               a) The Tripiṭaka Teaching  129
               b) The Shared Teaching  131
               c) The Distinct Teaching  132
               d) The Perfect Teaching 133
          3. Manifestation of the Subtle Dharma by Means of the Three Categories of Delusions   134
          4. The Severance of Delusions and the Fulfillment of Buddhahood  135

Colophon    137
Glossary    139
Selected Bibliography  155
Index    157

A List of the Volumes of the BDK English Tripiṭaka (First Series)